Gerald W. McFarland

Publication details available soon.

credit: Wingmasters, Leverett, MA

Announcing a novel forthcoming in August: T.T. MANN, ACE DETECTIVE

Six feet tall and weighing only twenty-two pounds, T.T. Mann is the perfect protagonist for this light-hearted take on the detective genre. Unlike the hard-boiled private investigators of noir detective fiction, T.T. is a gentle fellow who is shy with women, but he's not without resources, notably his excellent martial arts skills. With help from his girlfriend Rosie and his brother Flat Mann, T.T. deals entertainingly with dangerous and daunting cases that arise in San Francisco ca. 1955.

GERALD W. MCFARLAND, author of three previous novels -- THE BRUJO'S WAY, WHAT THE OWL SAW, and THE LAST OF OUR KIND -- was born in Oakland, California. After receiving his B.A. from the University of California, Berkeley, he moved to New York City, where he completed his doctorate in United States history at Columbia University.

He taught at the University of Massachusetts Amherst for forty-four years. During that time he published four nonfiction books on varied subjects in his field: Mugwump political reformers, American families in westward expansion, an unsolved Vermont murder case, and Greenwich Village in the decades before World War I. He is the recipient of many honors, including a John Simon Guggenheim Fellowship. His books, both nonfiction and fiction have received awards. The Colonial Dames cited his second book, A SCATTERED PEOPLE: AN AMERICAN FAMILY MOVES WEST, as one of the three best books in American history published in 1985. His second and third novels, WHAT THE OWL SAW and THE LAST OF OUR KIND, were shortlisted for Best Adventure Novel in 2015 and 2016 respectively for New Mexico-Arizona Book Awards. More recently, Chanticleer Reviews named THE LAST OF OUR KIND a Finalist for a Chaucer Award in the pre-1750 Americas historical novel category. He and his wife live in a small town in Western Massachusetts.

Selected Works

Third Novel in Series
The Buenaventura Series trilogy comes to a dramatic and surprising conclusion.
Second Novel in Series
In pursuit of expanded consciousness, Don Carlos is drawn into a web of dark and dangerous enchantments.
First novel in Series
The life of Don Carlos Buenaventura, an eighteenth-century Santa Fe, New Mexico brujo (sorcerer).
Family History
An innovative synthesis of genealogy and the saga of American pioneers migrating westward.
True Crime
An astonishing true-crime story. The murdered man saves his confessed killer from the gallows.
New York City History
A vivid portrait of Greenwich Village in the first decades of the twentieth century.
Short Story
A story from Don Carlos's 3rd life, in which he courts great danger in order to prevent an evil sorcerer from gaining possession of an emerald with enormous power.

Quick Links

Find Authors